Book Review - In The Name of Love by Louise Lee


THE BOOK

Jump on board IN THE NAME OF LOVE, Louise Lee’s irresistible follow-up to A GIRL CALLED LOVE. Warning: may contain laugh-snorts and the occasional sob on the side. Fans of Marian Keyes, Joanna Bolouri and Mhairi McFarlane, this one’s for you.

In The Name of Love by Louise Lee
Genre: Chick Lit
Publisher: Headline
Publication Date: 23 March 2017
ISBN-13: 9781472224583

"Retired, technically, Florence Love is a long way from her London Private Investigator glory days. But her latest target is achingly personal.

A ration of Montepulciano in her water pouch, Flo finds herself racing around Italy on a borrowed Vespa in the name of love. Bambi Love, specifically. Her mum - missing for twenty-five years. The one case that's still unsolved.

To find Bambi, maintaining focus will be critical. Florence must not be distracted.

Not even by a beautiful, goosebump-inducing Italian stranger with mafiosi friends and a habit of suddenly disappearing himself, who knows far more than he's letting on..."

MY REVIEW

Something I didn't realise when I requested this book on Netgalley is that it's actually the follow-up to A Girl Called Love which I haven't read. This made me a little nervous that I wouldn't be able to follow the storyline. I have to admit there were moments that left me confused, I could make a guess about what the characters were referring to but I felt like I was missing too much of the back story.

The first pages were all action - there was a church, a priest and a gun but I couldn't figure out how they were all connected. It wasn't until later on in the storyline that this part made sense.

It took me a little while to find my feet with this story but when I did, I was enthralled by the quirky style of writing. I enjoyed piecing together bits of Flo's life as I progressed through the book, she was an interesting character who had a very logical way of thinking. Her quest to find her mum was certainly entertaining - I had no idea what was coming next!

I was taken on quite a journey from Italy to the UK and back again. Throughout it all, my favourite part was the connection between Flo and her brother Michael, the two of them together were pretty much guaranteed to put a smile on my face,

The ending left me on such a teasing cliffhanger. It was one of those moments that leaves you staring at the page for a few minutes while you try to comprehend what just happened.

This was a bizarrely addictive read. There were some confusing moments and some laugh-out-loud moments so all I can say is be prepared for a crazy ride!

4 Stars
4 Stars
CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Louise Lee was once a geography teacher before taking the natural career step to become a Private Investigator. She studied for an MA in Creative Writing at Birkbeck and has work commissioned by and broadcast on BBC Radio Four.

Louise lives in London with her two children. The Last Honeytrap is the first in a series of novels to feature the inimitable Florence Love.


BUY THE BOOK



Thank you to the publisher for approving my NetGalley request for this eBook in exchange for my honest opinion.

Comments

  1. Fab review :) Sounds a little bit different. x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really was Shaz, very quirky!

      Thanks for stopping by x

      Delete

Post a Comment