Book Review - Quicksand by Malin Persson Giolito


THE BOOK

The Secret History meets We Need To Talk About Kevin in this exceptional new thriller for fans of Serial and Making a Murderer. Winner of Sweden's Best Crime Novel of the Year 2016.  

Quicksand by Malin Persson Giolito
Image sourced from NetGalley
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 6 April 2017
ISBN-13: 9781471160325

"Maja Norberg: Demonised victim? Or cold-blooded killer?  

'The air is hazy with gunpowder smoke.  Everyone has been shot but me. I haven't got so much as a bruise.'

An 18 year-old girl has spent nine months in jail awaiting trial for a shooting in her school.  Among those killed were her boyfriend and her best friend. Now the time has come for her to enter the courtroom."

MY REVIEW

The hard-hitting opening had me going back over it a couple of times to make sure the images it was creating in my mind were accurate. Then as I started to make my way through Maja's bleak story, I tried to work out exactly what had happened in that classroom. I had so many questions. Did Maja actually do what she was being accused of? What was her relationship with the victims? Why did she seem so calm? Who was Sebastian and how was he involved?

The writing style was beautifully expressive, it pulled me in and made me want to understand the characters and the situation better. Covering Maja's time in court made the story feel even more real, I found it very easy to visualise the scenes in front of me. It was absolutely believable.

Amongst the darkness of a murder trial were some amusing moments, little comments from Maja that made me laugh. Her sarcasm surprised me in a good way and I really enjoyed coming across those lighthearted sentences! This also brings me to the fact that I couldn't help but like Maja. I felt as though I was supposed to despise her but for some reason I just couldn't. In fact, I felt quite sad for her, for the situation she had found herself in. I definitely had some motherly feelings towards this girl who had so spectacularly lost her way.

The further I read, the more engrossed I became. Maja's life completely fascinated me and, as the mystery was pieced together, I realised I was holding my breath waiting for the outcome.

Quicksand is a suspenseful treat of a thriller that will have you flipping the pages in anticipation. An utterly captivating 5 star read.

5 Stars
5 Stars
CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR


BUY THE BOOK



Thank you to the publisher for approving my NetGalley request for this eBook in exchange for my honest opinion.

Comments

  1. Loved your review Kate. I can tell how much you were emotionally involved. x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Shaz, I was actually quite surprised to become so involved with it - love it when that happens! x

      Delete

Post a Comment