Book Review - I Know Where She Is by S.B. Caves


An explosive, gripping thriller for fans of Karin Slaughter, Linwood Barclay and Lisa Jewell, don’t miss this heart-stopping debut.

I Know Where She Is
Image sourced from NetGalley

Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Canelo
Publication Date: 14 August 2017
ISBN-13: 9781911591795

"On the tenth anniversary of her daughter Autumn's abduction, Francine receives an anonymous note containing just five words: I KNOW WHERE SHE IS

When a young woman approaches her the next day claiming to have sent the letter Francine wants to dismiss it as a cruel, twisted joke.

But the stranger knows things that only Autumn would know.

It soon becomes clear that Francine must go to dark places in order to learn the truth about her child’s kidnapping.

She will discover that danger comes from unexpected sources. She will do things she never imagined herself capable of.

But will Francine get her daughter back – or is it too late?"

MY REVIEW

I received a mysterious email from the publisher about I Know Where She Is and it totally caught my attention. I wanted to know more so I requested it on NetGalley as soon as I could.

Wow this book got under my skin! I felt invested in Francine's story almost as soon as I started reading, I wanted the same answers as she did - I wanted to know what had happened to her daughter. I think being a mother myself made the storyline even more real for me, my motherly instincts took over and I couldn't help but feel involved. This wasn't always a good thing because there were some scenes that were incredibly difficult for me to read and brought tears to my eyes. The further I read, the more sinister things became.

When the storyline switched to Autumn's perspective I felt a variety of things, mainly horror but also intrigue because by this point I had so many questions circling around my mind. What followed was uncomfortable at times and so tense but I just couldn't stop reading, waiting for the outcome that I was hoping for. 

Autumn turned out to be my favourite character, she was surprisingly strong but there was also a quiet mysterious side to her which, I think, gave her a dangerous edge.

This was a disturbing but addictive read that was difficult to put down and left me desperate to know what happens next!

5 Stars
5 Stars

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR


BUY THE BOOK



Thank you to the publisher for approving my NetGalley request for this eBook in exchange for my honest opinion.

Comments

Post a Comment