Book Review - A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed series is impossible to put down!

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Publication Date: 5 May 2015
ISBN-13: 9781408857861

"Feyre's survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill - the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price ...

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre's presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever."

MY REVIEW

I bought this book because I had heard SO many good things about the series all over social media (mainly Bookstagram) and I wanted to see for myself what all the fuss was about.

The initial feeling I got from Feyre was a bleak kind of desperation, she was fighting for survival in what seemed to be a very harsh world. She was brave and practical, taking care of her family in a way someone her age shouldn't have to. Even during her capture she was strong and courageous, what a fabulous character!

Gradually hostility between Feyre and her captor turned into something else, I had been expecting this yet I still felt surprised - how is that possible? The tension continued but in a very different way, it was so exciting to read.

Life in Prythian intrigued and captivated me, I couldn't get enough of the fantastical creatures and the stories of their lives. The author created a world that was romantic but in a deadly sort of way - it made me want to go there and discover it all for myself. The further I read, the more I felt part of the storyline and I loved every minute of it.

There were characters who I hated and then loved, characters who I couldn't figure out but then began to understand and in the middle of it all was Feyre who continued to surprise me with her strength.

Oh my goodness what an ending, thank goodness I already had the next book waiting for me!

Dark and dangerous yet light and romantic, this was a book that played on all the senses.

5 Stars
5 Stars

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Comments

  1. We looked at these in Waterstones at the weekend Kate. Sounds a fabulous world. I was gripped by your review! x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Shaz, this series has really got me buzzing! x

      Delete

Post a Comment